What You Need To Know About New York Auto Insurance
New York Auto Insurance Basics
Although almost every state in the country requires auto insurance for drivers, each state differs in the amount of coverage that they require. Knowing how much coverage you are required to have can help to ensure that you have the right amount of protection.
In the state of New York, you are required to carry $25,000 of liability insurance for bodily injury to one person, $50,000 of liability insurance for bodily injury to everyone involved in the accident, and $10,000 of property damage liability. It is also mandatory to carry $50,000 of “no-fault” coverage. While these are the minimum amounts that are required, you have the option to invest in more insurance. The more coverage that you invest in, the better you will be protected while you are on the road.
There are very costly consequences if you are caught driving without auto insurance coverage. You could lose your vehicle registration and license for up to a year if you are caught driving without a license, and face a fine up to $1,500. You will also have to pay a DMV civil penalty of $750 to get your license back when the suspension is up. The same consequences are in place if you allow an unlicensed driver to drive your car.
When you invest in an auto insurance policy, you will receive an ID card that can be used to show that you have insurance coverage if you are ever involved in an accident. However, New York also requires that you have paper proof and an electronic filing of your policy to prove that you have auto insurance coverage.
For all of your auto insurance needs and to ensure that you have the right amount of coverage to comply with all of the New York auto insurance laws, contact Club Agency in Garden City, New York.